Is Soybean Oil Gluten Free?

Soybean oil is made by pressing the oils from soybeans, in the same way as olive oil or other vegetable oils are made. Soybeans are a legume, from the same family as peas and other types of bean, though it’s classed as an oilseed rather than a pulse for some purposes.

Are they safe to eat if you have celiac disease? Well, if you’re wondering, is soybean oil gluten free? Stop worrying, the answer is yes. Soybeans contain no gluten at all.

The soybean has several highly attractive features as a food, one of which is that it is one of the few vegetable sources of complete protein. When we eat grains, only half of the amino acids required for human protein construction are present; legumes contain the other half. That’s why, the world over, beans and grains go together in staple foods like chili and tortillas in South America or rice and dhal in India – or beans on toast in England. But soybeans don’t suffer from this drawback. Their protein is complete, which makes them a valuable source, especially for people who have to cut down on their grain intake; they’re an especially useful source of protein for vegetarians.

Look out, though. Some soy sauces contain wheat products, and take care with digestive health too. While it’s not directly associated with celiac disease, some people have allergies to soy and sometimes digestive tract intolerances can be quite broad-spectrum: lots of people who have celiac disease also have asthma, eczema, other food intolerances or other conditions. If you don’t have soy allergies, it’s perfectly safe from the gluten viewpoint.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *